Focus II Module, Brief 2: Priorities.

The landscape architects and practices that initially interested me were those whose projects featured in books and publications I read illustrating a distinctive approach in form, character and use of material, which unconsciously appealed to me.  An example of these being the works of Shunmyo Masuno, Walking on water by Terragram Pty. Ltd, the marine walk at St Valery en Caux by Jacques Coulon, Oak Savanna Vineyard at Los Oliivos by Ron Lutsko and the minimal garden of architect Javier Sordo Madaleno, Mexico to name but a few.

Before beginning my studies of Landscape architecture I had no real idea of the mechanisms involved with or the professions associated with a contemporary practice and was attracted to an image and style of a garden, landscape or public space not considering the many other facets of this multi-disciplinary industry; which provides a range of services involving feasibility and environmental impact studies, schematic and development design, construction documents, site analysis and evaluation, environmental planning, historical preservation, digital design and 3D visual modelling, renderings and scale model construction, master plans and much more.

It was from developing a better understanding of how a modern landscape practice works that I started to gain an idea of the type of firm where I would prefer to work in order to generate the greatest amount of experience during my gap year.  This would hopefully be a firm that offered the broadest range of experience and knowledge concerning the varied disciplines relating to a contemporary landscape architecture practice.

One of the assignments for the same module in the first year was to visit and document the experience and workings of a landscape practice.  My choice was Gustafson Porter in Kentish town.  On starting at Kingston University in September 2006 this practice figured prominently in our study with the recent construction of Swiss Cottage Open Space, the works at Old Market Square, Nottingham and the unfortunate criticisms it was receiving in the national papers over periodic closures of the Diana, Princess of Wales Memorial Fountain in Hyde Park, London.  Fortunately I was given an invitation to visit their open planned offices and the friendly, informal atmosphere I encountered eased my initial nerves.  It was a great experience to receive an insight into the daily operation of a leading landscape architect practice and ask questions about the progression of their various projects to those involved.  I admire the numerous and diverse schemes undertaken by Gustafson Porter, their approach through projects; the atmosphere within the working environment and would be the ideal placement for me in London.

Another reason for mentioning this visit is the contrast I discovered when visiting the offices of EDAW in Hatton Garden a year later to get information on Royal Victoria Square, Docklands, on which I was conducting an assignment and EDAW were lead consultants.  Naively and wrongly I visited their offices without making a prior appointment, taking for granted that I might find a similar informality as that Gustafson Porter.  The secretary put me straight and said I had to make more formal enquires.  Although my visit was brief, I could see their floor of offices beyond, a hive of activity concerning dozens of people.  The occasion made me think about the atmosphere and size of a practice I would prefer to work at and although probably unfounded I thought I might get lost and not receive the level of mentoring as in a smaller set up as Gustafson Porter.

This is of course all irrelevant because with the current economic downturn and the reduction in the availability of gap year positions, I would take any opportunity offering descent work experience and grounding for my continuing studies.

Another practice based in the UK that appealed to me through their works was BCA Landscape based in Liverpool with their Modernist approach to their designs displayed in such schemes as Campbell Square, Liverpool and Drift Park, Rhyl, North Wales.

It was my aim after hopefully passing my degree was to find employment for two years with a company located in the Cape Province of South Africa, to enable my girlfriend to spend overdue time with her family, after living nine years in England.  South Africa has a voluntary organisation registered with the South African Council for the landscape architecture profession called the Institute of Landscape Architects of South Africa (ILASA), similar to the UK’s Landscape Institute.  ILASA is separated into two regional bodies, one in the Western Cape (ILASA Cape) and the second in the Gauteng Province (GSLA), which represents members countrywide.

Being based in Somerset West, 20 minutes out of Cape Town it was the practices within the ILASA Cape that interested me; of which there were twelve registered practices. 

Of the twelve practices I could only get information for eight.  Of all the various companies, the one which appealed the most was the practice Planning Partners based in Cape Town, a multi-disciplinary firm with over 25 years experience and depth of knowledge in landscape architecture, urban design, urban and regional planning.  Planning Partners was the one that most impressed me because of the range and quality of works they had conducted, along with the contemporary manner in which they presented and executed their works.  The scope of projects the company had undertaken extended all over Africa, the Middle East and Europe providing tremendous potential for developing a varied experience and breadth of learning during my time out from studying.

In regards to how my own work aligns and reflects to that of my chosen practices, those selected in the UK were more bound by the specific style in which those companies approached their work and which I was attracted to through my own preferences.  I think being based in London and close to Europe we are spoilt for the range and type of practice we may desire to work for.  Being in a temperate climate with a range of definite seasons (although rapidly changing) there are also greater possibilities for adaptations to particular briefs.  My selection in South Africa was based on finding a company, which would provide a level of experience and of knowledge, which would enhance my learning of landscape architecture and understanding of the industries infrastructure and mechanisms.  I can only hope that through presenting my CV, examples of my work and displaying a passion for the landscape architecture profession that I will get the placement I’m after.

Where I certainly need to improve and develop my skills is my ability to understand and manipulate the various software applications, which are mandatory to landscape architecture in producing competitive and seductive presentations.  I have struggled, but that is part of the challenge of learning and satisfaction gained from possessing skills, which strengthen your levels of communicating concepts, ideas and generating the expertise required by all practices.  Being aware of this failure I have concentrated more time on improving my ability with using such applications as Vecterworks and enrolled on an Imedia course with SCOLA during the evenings, which focuses on teaching the Adobe CS3 creative suite package.  I know how essential these skills are to my studies and future employment and will keep plugging away.

In attempting to seek employment in South Africa I will continue to work at my studies to achieve the best grades I can and start assembling the elements needed to promote myself in the highest possible way to potential employers as highlighted in brief 4: Trajectory of the focus module.

 

www.gustafson-porter.com

www.bcalandscape.co.uk

www.planpart.co.za

    

Section from Landscape 10.08 illustrating Gustafson Porter installation at the Venice Biennale.

Section from Landscape 10.08 illustrating Gustafson Porter installation at the Venice Biennale.

Section from Avant Gardener displaying Campbell Sq by BCA Landscape.

Section from Avant Gardener displaying Campbell Sq by BCA Landscape.

Example of works by Planning Partners at Croydon Wine & Olive Estate.

Example of works by Planning Partners at Croydon Wine & Olive Estate.

 

Leave a comment